March-April Bulletin

What’s Happening at Hillside

Spotlight On…


Hillside Fellowship Meeting

You are invited to attend a Hillside Fellowship meeting on Saturday, April 7th from 4:00-6:00 p.m.
Hillside Fellowship was founded in 1969 on the belief that each of us is of inherent value, and that through participation in a supportive community based on love and forgiveness, we learn to risk being our authentic selves.  Such support enables us to develop and use our gifts for the greater good.
In this spirit, the Fellowship meets together periodically to discuss ideas that intrigue and inspire us, with the purpose of strengthening our understanding of ourselves and each other, and building a fun, supportive community.  With this support and understanding, we use our unique gifts to better the world.
Meetings follow a basic format: One person shares an idea, a piece of literature, art, or music that they find inspiring or intriguing.  (The person who shares changes from meeting to meeting.)  Each of us reflects on the presentation through drawing, poetry, prose, interpretive dance… whatever!  We then have the option to share and discuss our responses.  Afterwards we enjoy a potluck meal. People are welcome to attend the potluck or leave after the meeting.
Any and all (or no) faith backgrounds are welcome.  We hope to see you this April 7th.
Please note: There is no child care provided, so kids who can withstand a long-ish focus are welcome to attend with their parents.  Parents who bring young children will be responsible for watching them.
Feel free to contact Karen with any questions.

Live Theater Field Trips20180125_101950.jpg

Brynne masterminded not one, but two field trips to see live theater in our area. The 8th graders went to see “Two Trains Running” at Seattle Repertory Theater to compliment their in-class work with August Wilson. The 5th, 6th, and 7th graders had the opportunity to see Seattle Children’s Theater’s “The Little Prince,” including a private question and answer with Lamar Legend, who played the Aviator.

Live Theater at Hillside
The 5th and 6th graders are hard at work on this year’s Intermediate play, a set of short scenes adapted by Neil Simon from Anton Checkov’s short stories. Make sure to see the performance on April 5th or 6th at 7:00 p.m.

Poetry Out Loud
Congratulations to ninth grader Joshua Mashkowski for representing Hillside in the regional Poetry Out Loud competition on Saturday, February 2nd at Tacoma Public Library. He recited “The Destruction of Sennacherib” by Lord Byron and “Pieta” by Kevin Young. Hillside is proud of Joshua’s hard work and strong performance!

Script Writing for History Feast
All high schoolers should put the following on their schedules:
Monday, 3/12, 3:00-4:30:  High School History Class Script Writing Session!
Monday, 3/19, 3:00-4:30:  High School History Class Script Writing Session!
Monday, 3/26, 3:00-4:30:  High School History Class Script Writing Session!

Open House
March is said to come in like and lion and depart like a lamb (or vice-versa.) At Hillside, March comes in with an Open House and departs with an Open House as well! Our second March Open House is on Thursday, 3/29. Please pass this along to families looking for their next step in schools, and we hope to see you that evening as well!

Fencing Tournament
Saturday, 3/31:  All day trip to Portland, Oregon, for a Sabre Tournament at OFA (Oregon Fencing Alliance).  Kael would like to take fencers of all ages who are interested.  Contact him for details at


Events Calendar

Tuesday, March 13
Fencing —3:00 p.m.

Thursday, March 15
Fencing—3:00 p.m.

Friday, March 16
PSAT 10—8:00 a.m.
Animation Club (Term I)—3:00 p.m.

Saturday, March 17
Set Painting—11:00 a.m.

Monday, March 19
History Feast Practice—3:00 p.m.

Tuesday, March 20
Fencing—3:00 p.m.

Thursday, March 22
Fencing—3:00 p.m.

Friday, March 23
Animation Club (Term I)—3:00 p.m.

Monday, March 26
History Feast Practice—3:00 p.m.

Tuesday, March 27
Fencing—3:00 p.m.

Thursday, March 29
Open House—6:30 p.m.

Friday, March 30
No School—Weather Make-Up Day

Monday, April 2
Block IIIB Begins
History Feast Practice—3:00 p.m.
Intermediate Dress Rehearsal—3:00 p.m.

Tuesday, April 3

Wednesday, April 4
RS Financial Literacy—6:00 p.m.

Thursday, April 5
5th+6th Drama Performance—7:00 p.m.

Friday, April 6
Animation Club (Term I)—3:00 p.m.
5th+6th Drama Performance—7:00 p.m.

Saturday, April 7
Set strike—11:00 a.m.
Hillside Fellowship Meeting—4:00 – 6:00 p.m.

Monday, April 9 – Friday, April 13
No School—Spring Break

Monday, April 16
Games Club—3:00 p.m.
History Feast Practice—3:00 p.m.

Tuesday, April 17
Fencing—3:00 p.m.

Wednesday, April 18
RS Financial Literacy—6:00 p.m.

Thursday, April 19

Friday, April 20
Weather Make-Up Day – No School

Monday, April 23
Games Club—3:00 p.m.

Tuesday, April 24
History Feast Practice—3:00 p.m.

Thursday, April 26
Fencing—3:00 p.m.

Friday, April 27
Animation Club (Term I)—3:00 p.m.

Monday, April 30
Games Club—3:00 p.m.
History Feast Practice—3:00 p.m.

%d bloggers like this: